Wedding Colors

How do brides pick wedding colors?

‘Brides to be’ can pick wedding colors from multiple different reasons.. yes multiple! It may not be as cookie cutter as you may think. For me it was quite easy, but I’m on many wedding Facebook groups and I’ve seen many brides having a hard time picking their colors!

I just selected my favorite colors and used them, it was simple and they matched perfectly together. My colors are ….. *drum roll* please…..navy blue and yellow. It’s a plus since those colors work really well with my favorite flower which is no other than a sunflower, which will be the main flower for my wedding.

So how do other brides pick wedding colors?

As I mention above some brides just pick their favorite colors or use their fiancés favorite colors,,, or even a combination of both. This to me just seems like the most simple way to pick wedding colors but of course everyone is different.

Some brides use colors based on the theme of the wedding. Which I think is pretty self explanatory on how that works, example beach wedding – blues, tans, and bright colors , A woodland wedding – greens, browns, and an accent color  , Pretty in Pink – Just a lot of pinks. I think you get the drift, but I think it’s pretty cool choosing a theme and using colors to bring the theme to life.

Picking colors based on the season is another way for brides. Rather it’s autumn, winter, spring or summer there is always colors that go better with that season. Autumn I see more orange, brown, and gold colors. Winter are dark colors… black, dark red, and charcoal. Spring colors are pastel colors such as peach,  teal, and lavender. Then finally summer are more bright colors… bright red, yellow, salmon, and coral. This could be a really fun way to figure out colors.

Brides can get inspiration from the venue. The venue may already have strong hues the brides will have to work with, I’m personally glad my venue is all dark wood and is basically a blank slate!

There are many more ways on choosing colors but I just went over a few. But as you can see there really are multiple ways for choosing wedding colors and it may be more complicated then you thought.

Here’s a picture that reflects my wedding colors! I love it! b692fc9ed7c3f1e2885bbd1258344d1b

Leave a Reply

